I apologize for not providing a link to news articles concerning this, but you can Google Joplin boyscouts to access the information available.

Over 1000 scouts and scouters from around the country converged on Joplin MO this weekend to help in the recovery. I have no first hand knowledge of what the other groups did, but the group of 100 plus scouts and scouters that I was honored to work with did clean up saturday in the debris field at the destroyed Irving Elementary School within sight of the destroyed St.Johns Hospital. Removing and sorting debris from around the building to facilitate access to crews that will remove the structure.

This was done over a 6 hour period starting at 90 plus degess at 10am and climbed to over 100 degree temperatures and was done in the truest scouting spirit. Safety areas were designated, as the building is still falling down, a first aid area, and a rehydration area were set up. No scouts went into the structure. Volunteers were paired up to monitor each other and water breaks were set every 45 minutes and then 30 minutes as temperatures climbed. This duty was performed at a level that is in the hightest scout ideals. A scout is Helpful.

This was all done in over 100 degree temperatures. Only three scouts were treated onsite for heat related conditions. All are fine due to the planning and training of scouters at the site. One scout was transported to a local hospital for x-rays after dropping a concret block on his foot. This happened in the first 15 minutes and was a lesson learned by all. I have no information on his status.

Of the 1000 plus there were cubscouts, boyscouts, venture crews and scouters. All working together in the highest tradition of scouting.