Katrina help please

My name is Roger DeSanti and I am a Scouter in Mandeville, Louisiana which is just north of New Orleans. I am also a Professor of Literacy Education at the University of New Orleans - I help teachers to understand reading and writing so they can teach children. Because of the storm there is a need for books. We need story books for the children to read. Textbooks and school books are doing OK but there is a need for childrens literature. We would very much like for each child to own at least one book and so I am asking for you to send what you can. Because both US mail and private delivery services are still spotty at best in New Orleans, I am asking that you send them to my home rather than to the university. I will personally transport them to the city and see to it that they are distributed to the children.

Thank you for being Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, and Kind as you help other people at all times.

Yours in Scouting,

Roger DeSanti

6011 Walden Place

Mandeville, LA 70448-7047

Roger,

WELCOME!!!!

I wish you luck with your efforts! Thank you for them!!

With all due respect, I would be more comfortable shipping books to your local council office. There are probably others who are just as cautious and it might simplify your efforts in the event you get a large response. We might even be able to get our local councils to support your efforts and ship boxes. Could this be possible??

Is there a similar program specifically for Scouts: equipment, uniforms, handbooks, etc.?

jd

Thanks for your responses and advice.

One of my fellow Scouters here in Mandeville is taking care of uniforms, handbooks, merit badge pamphlets, etc. As of Thursday nights Roundtable, we have taken care of everyone in need. Thank you for asking.