Sea Shell necklace

When I graduated from the Scoutmaster specific Training Course i was given a leather throng with 2 sea shells that appears similar to the Wood Badge Beads they are awarded.  Does anybody know how or when this is worn? Must I be in a scoutmaster role to wear it?  Or does just having graduated allow me to wear it?

Basically, if you cannot find a reference to it in the Guide to Awards and Insignia, probably should not be worn with the uniform.

When it comes to uniforming, Scouts tend to do as they see; if all of the Scouters in a unit are properly uniformed, the Scouts will likely be properly uniformed.  By the same token, if all of the Scouters wear only the shirt, and have insignia in the wrong places, the Scouts will follow suit.

• Upvote 1
  • 3 weeks later...

sounds to me like a local tradition. Nothing wrong with that. When it comes to necklaces and add-ons there is quite a bit of we went. The main rule is don't overdo it and don't have it be distracting.

@MikeS72 that is a good rule of thumb, but just don't tell anyone in micosay that they can't wear their necklace, unless you want a big fight.

Now there are quite a number of things that cannot wear on the uniform, including Eagle mentor and parent pins. These are specifically stated in the guide as non-uniform pieces. You cannot make special color loops for your epaulets, custom or spoof knots and trained patches are not approved.

• Upvote 1

As a former First Sergeant in the Army I think Uniform Regs are important.  Even if dont understand why an Eagle cannot show his continued commitment as an adult (someone explain this to me).  I have attached the sea shells to my class b troop sweatshirt. I think of it now as a campaign coin... not a medal.  A kind informal commendation Soldiers hold dear but have no official meaning.

47 minutes ago, ArmyScout said:

Even if dont understand why an Eagle cannot show his continued commitment as an adult (someone explain this to me)