A highly respected brother in our lodge passed away recently after 6 decades of continuous service mentoring ceremony teams.  There is talk of honouring his memory with a broken arrow ceremony,  but I have zero experience with such.

Anyone here ever done/ seen one?

What was it like?

I was a part of a Broken Arrow ceremony a few years back in my old Council.  It was a very unique and meaningful experience.  The brother who passed was a former Lodge Adviser and Camp Ranger.  Our Lodge at the time did not have a very strong ceremonies program, so our Scout Executive asked myself and another "youthful" adult to conduct the ceremony.  While an actual youth would have been preferred, we didn't want to have one of the youth try to stumble through it given the solemn nature of the occasion.  The only regalia we donned were headdresses.  It was unlike any ceremony experience I had before or since.  

Several years ago, we did one for my father-in-law who had almost 80 years in Scouting and almost as much in the OA. We had a great Ceremonies Team, but we'd never done such a ceremony. Went more or less "by the book" and were able to get a quick practice in - did the two lines of Arrowmen with linked arms, but in one spot, one Arrowman was holding one end of the Arrow and another Arrowman the other so as to create an "empty spot" for the deceased brother. His sash was draped over the arrow. The same arrow was later broken, so...if you do something like that, the arrow is typically 'notched' about half way down so it breaks easily. Need to be careful so as not to break it before it's actually supposed to be broken. Very intense ceremony and we had a lot of good comments. If you can manage a bit of practice beforehand, it's a ceremony that will be remembered by many. It's a very unique experience. Regalia was worn sans headdress.  

Edited by MikeS
  • Like 1