The first few times I went through training in standard First Aid / CPR, the course was taught by the local Red Cross chapter and we got a card with the Red Cross logo.

Last year I was looking to renew my certification and noticed that our local council had some courses that were identified as ESRI.  (Same for Wilderness First Aid).

Are the ESRI courses somehow different from Red Cross?  Why would one be preferred over the other?

Not really. There is an agreement between all the different first aid/cpr agencies to use the same content. American Heart Association is responsible for CPR criteria that everyone else follows. American Red Cross is responsible for the First Aid side of things. They pretty much work together I am told.

9 minutes ago, Eagle94-A1 said:

American Heart Association is responsible for CPR criteria that everyone else follows.

As a Red Cross instructor, I can tell you that American Heart Association does have differences with their CPR classes.  For a number of years now, they have emphasized compression only CPR, while Red Cross still teaches the breathing/compression combo model.  There is a short segment during Red Cross training showing compression only method, but the 30/2 compression to breaths is still the preferred method.

As for ESRI, I am not sure who that is, here in Central Florida we either use Red Cross or ECSI, who are the primary providers authorized by BSA to offer WRFA courses.  BSA will also accept a provider who is certified by the American Camp Association.  The ACA does not show ESRI as an accredited provider.

3 minutes ago, MikeS72 said:

As for ESRI, I am not sure who that is, here in Central Florida we either use Red Cross or ECSI, who are the primary providers authorized by BSA to offer WRFA courses.  BSA will also accept a provider who is certified by the American Camp Association.  The ACA does not show ESRI as an accredited provider.