Swimming Requirements for Rank

I would like opinions on a Troop that I have encountered a few months back, but it's been festering in my mind.

While talking to a Scoutmaster at a local Merit Badge University, the subject of swim test requirements for rank came up.  He (somewhat jokingly) said that his troop was a magnet for drop outs from other area Troops because his Troop "just signs off" on the swim test requirements without a Scout ever having to attempt even the beginner test.  My response was a quick laugh and "Thanks for the laugh.  I needed that!"  He said "No, I'm serious - it's just not worth the hassle of fighting the over protective, helicopter parents and enforcing the rules.  My son is on the downhill stretch toward Eagle and when that happens, I'm outta here.  I'm tired of fighting the parents."

I was speechless.  Now, I'm by no means an expert or well-seasoned Scouter (only 6 or 7 years mostly Cubs - figuring out the Troop thing slowly but surely), however, I do read and the 2017 Guide to Advancement clearly states  

Policy on Unauthorized Changes to Advancement Program

No council, committee, district, unit, or individual has the authority to add to, or subtract from, advancement requirements. 

It's a serious disservice to the Troop to let them bypass requirements that are clearly meant to challenge and help the boys grow.  Aside from that, it kind of smears the Scout Law into a blur.

Would you do or say anything about this?  Or no?  Thoughts, discussion and advice from the many experienced Scouters here is welcome.

That is dangerous.  First off they shouldn't get signed off on that requirement unless they pass the test.  What lesson are we teaching them  But more importantly, what happens in a water situation where the scout goes into the water and can't swim safely?  

I would say something in my opinion 

20 minutes ago, TMSM said: