Conservation Projects and Project SOAR

With the relatively new conservation-specific projects required for Boy Scout advancement, I'm curious what kinds of projects your Scouts are getting into.  As a conservation professional, I have been approached in the past by Scouting units looking for ideas.  So I'm hoping you could share some successes from your respective units.

Also, I'm starting to feel the gears spin in my head regarding the 50th anniversary of Project SOAR (Save Our Air and Resources).  Not sure if BSA is looking to commemorate that anniversary, but I think it would be pretty fantastic to resurrect it and re-focus our efforts on cleaning up waterways and planting trees.  

fullsizeoutput_61f.jpeg

Edited by LeCastor

Here are examples from our troop during the past year. All of these conservation projects were suggested/requested by the land owners, and most happened during camping trips.

1. Cleaning out a plugged drain culvert that was causing trail erosion from the diverted runoff.

2. Picking up broken glass (lots of it) from a trail that is frequented by both humans and animals.

3. Channeling runoff water away from a trail that was becoming a mud pit.

4. Piling up dead wood for a controlled burn to reduce forest fire hazard.

5. Removing non-native plant species that were choking out the native plants.

Edited by gblotter
  • Like 1
  • Upvote 1

Thanks, @gblotter!  I know that the standard operating procedure for many Troops is to ask a landowner what needs doing.  However, I'm hoping some Scouters out there might have ideas that they present TO a landowner.  The BSA's Conservation Handbook recently got a makeover and is pretty good, in my opinion.