I am a Leader with a few hats. I am a Pack Trainer, Troop and Crew Trainer, ASM, and Crew Advisor. I have asked this question but can not seem to get a straight answer. The question is how much time should a leader take to finish up his training. I have a few older ASM's that have been with the Troop for 10 plus years and are not fully trained. I strive for my 100 percent but they refuse to take the training. Ie IOLS. What can be done? Any suggestions? Thanks

• Replies 66
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Did ja know that people can get college credit for life experience?  Just sayin'

Really?  Get back to us next year and share what you've learned.   In my experience; 5% of training is useful information (being generous here), 45% is a good ole boy fluffing his feathers, and 50%

My cousin has a guy like this in his unit. Recon Marine, sniper, etc. Had to get him certified as an RSO. Showed up at the NRA training, showed them his military ID, discussed his qualifications, had

First of all, welcome to the forum! and thanks for posting a good question.

I don't know if one will ever be able to teach an old dog a new trick. Many have tried, but I don't know the statistical results of success.

One isn't going to be able to do much obtusely either, they've been around long enough they'll see through any shell games.  :)

So this leaves me with a question.  First of all these guys/gals have been around for 10 years and although haven't had the training haven't drawn any attention to it either.  Yeah, on paper and on their shirt, it might be a bit noticeable, but in the real world of taking the boys out and keeping them safe, is there really any problem?  Can they function as ASM's?  Do they know enough to be of benefit to the adult staff and do they work well with the boys?