Concern over ASM in another troop

I have some inside knowledge about a person volunteering in another troop. This guy has no boys in scouts, but he does have a son that he does not acknowledge or see. Not only that but this guy lost his license for a year just a couple years ago for dui, and takes multiple psychiatric medications for a slew of mental health issues, including benzos. I also know he has a history of violence toward several people none of whom went to the police. He is real trouble but the folks at this troop have no idea. I am frankly concerned over the safety of the kids involved, but I am not sure it is my place to get involved with people from a completely different troop. I really don't know how to handle this. What makes this even more complex is that I know all this because this guy was involved with my sister-in-law so whatever I might say could look like sour grapes, which it truly isn't. Should I mind my own business and wait for something to happen?

• Replies 42
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

Was the DUI before or after he became a scout leader?   IMHO, that's the only relevant issue you've brought up. His relationship with his son is probably very complicated, and you don't know the w

Chances are SM has already made the measure of the man.   If you know the ASM well enough to talk to him, you could ask if the COR ever questioned him of the DUI. (It should have been on the applic

A DUI is always relevant regardless of when it happened. The other stuff is just part of the same profile.

Was the DUI before or after he became a scout leader?