A little advice here....

I am a fresh college grad and I am currently applying for a job as a DE for a council in an area of the state that I am not currently familiar with. From reading the forum, it seems like this is a bad idea. To be honest, from reading the forum, it seems like being a DE overall is a bad idea. haha, Anyways, I was wondering about how much a DE will typically make? I'm not looking to get rich, but I don want to be able to support my family. Also, is it a bad idea to become a DE fresh out of college? I have always been in scouts, and look forward to getting back into it, but I don't want to make a bad desicion by doing so as a DE. Any advice is good advice. Thanks!

z,

First off. Good luck in your choice.

Scouting is one of the best family programs out there. I would say its the best, but others may argue that there are other sports, academic, recreation programs that meet their families needs.

For some DE's, professional Scouting may be the only profession they will ever enjoy, they may be a DE or professional Scouter, from college until retirement age. Others may linger around Scouting for a few months, but may decide the match of their skill and the occupational requirements just don't equate.

I have heard that professional Scouting is a job, and takes the fun out of it. I have known a few Scouting parents, who entered Scouting as a second career after their sons departed. Maybe one of every three DE's that I've met. Out of those, a couple of DE that I've known resigned from the profession and continue Scouting as a volunteer. Essentially stating the BSA program is a great program, but the job just wasn't for them.