I've been out of scouting for over 20 years. Back in the 80s and 90s I was a ASM, SM, and OA Chapter Advisor, earned my Silver Beaver and attended Wood Badge in 1989. Since my grandson will be 11 this September I'm getting back into Scouting and have been asked to be a Unit Commissioner.

At Roundtable this month, they put on a big push for everyone to get Wood Badge trained. I mentioned that I had already been and they recommended that I attend the new one. My question is that it appears (and they said) I would have to give up my existing beads and rework another ticket. I'm OK with that, but then I see at Philmont Training Center they hare having a Wood Badge Refresher course for pre 21CWB folk and its doesn't seem to require giving up your beads or reworking a ticket.

So which is it?

Also, from what I pick up the new course seems to be covering all the Leadership stuff I learned in business school when I got my MBA. Not sure how I feel about going through all that stuff again, but I loved Wood Badge the first time I did it.

Steve Allen

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You have earned your beads and are Wood Badge trained. Based on your history that you listed, you know more about Boy Scouting than will be taught during a Wood Badge for the 21st Century course. It's not so much Scouting-related as it is managing skills.

my understanding from one of the SMs at Jamboree is that they are being pushed if not req'd to have 21CWB to participate at that level.

$.02

Being one of those with a less than stellar and abortive 21CWB experience, I'd opt for the upgrade if given the alternative.

But if you already have it, keep it.

There is a lot of misconception about what what current bead holders must do if they wish to attend a new course. This is from the 2011 version of the Wood Badge for the 21st Century Administrative Guide