Should Committee Members take WB?

I've been doing the Committee thing ever since Bears o'so many years ago. While I understand how Woodbadge helps a program leader, how does it help an MC? What in it is applicable to committee fucitons?

WB here in TAC is a week long program. That in itself sounds great--a week without my kids! But, I'm not sure why I should take it.

• Replies 35
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Is Scouting something you want to keep doing after the kids are out of the program? If yes, take WB. In a way, it's like some of the schools your DH attends: They're a rite of passage on the trail.

Would you like to be able to help units improve communication amongst themselves? If yes, take WB.

Would you like to broaden your base of Scouters you know? If yes, take WB (even in TAC... because folks will come over from Britain and up from Italy)

Finally, and fully in jest...

If your DH DEROSs while you are working your ticket, would you like to give your TG/SM conniption fits when it comes time to bead you, and the two of you are now stationed at,... let's pick Lewis? If you, take WB ;)

If you do Scouty things, and you have a modicum of Scout experience, WB can only help. The course applies to Scout stuff, work stuff, family stuff (keep an open mind!) and personal stuff. The WB is held in high esteem by corporate America, some colleges will give course credit for it. If finances are a concern, some unions will give scholarships (how I went!), some companies will too, Scout Council will have "WBerships". Ask around.

What better way to learn than by having fun doing what you love and seeing how you might do it better?

At the worst, you can always come back to Scouterdotcom and chastise us for being wrong, or stupid or oblivious to the obvious shortcomings that the WB course promotes or something...

Either way, you're out in the woods and not in the office.

I'm sorry, what was your question again?