Dealing with Single Parents

This is my first year as a den leader (Tigers) and am experiencing communication problems with separated parents. Parents that are not on a unified front for their cubscout are particularly hard to deal with. I recently found out that one of my scouts is moving and both the mother and father are supportive of their scout's activities and events, however, the one parent hadn't informed the other that they were moving out of the area. The parent asked me about the transfer process and I assumed that the other parent was on the same page and told him of the transfer process. Apparently, the two parents blew up at each other at a scouting event and blamed me for letting the cat out of the bag.

I'm seriously considering stepping down as leader if I've got to put up with this "he said-she said" situations. Do I just pick one parent to deal with and assume that the parents are communicating? Help.

Thanks

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Wow, that stinks that they are mad at you.

Don't quit over this. You could not have known that it was a big secret unless the one that mentioned it first told you it was.

If the lad is moving, you won't have to deal with this particular family anymore anyhow. Dealing with separated parents can be tricky, but it isn't always as bad as this. There are many parents who truly do work together for their son. Just this month, I was pleased to see one of my Webelos walk into the B&G Banquet with his real dad. Then shortly after that, his stepdad and his mom came in and they all sat together for the evening.

Jo

I'd take it up with the Committee Chairman or the Cubmaster (if you don't know your committee chairman or he's not easily accessible) and have them take care of the situation at this point. One family's internal problems shouldn't be costing the pack a committed volunteer.