Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Grumpy

Wolf electives and arrow points clarification

Recommended Posts

My son is a wolf cub. We are both new to Cub Scouting. I understand that electives are made up of multiple elective requirements. And arrow points are earned for each time a cub scout earns 10 elective REQUIREMENTS, not electives. Right?

 

And it appears a Wolf Cub Scout may work on the elective requirements before he earns his Wolf badge, but may not be awarded the arrow points until after he earns the Wolf badge. Right?

 

Does completing an elective (completing each elective requirement for that elective) signify anything?

 

Thanks for your help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Check pg 226 of your Wolf handbook -- The Conservation Award requires completion of all parts of two of the following three electives: 13, 15, 19.

 

I can't think of any other instance that gives value to completing all parts of Electives.

 

jd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If I'm correct all wolf and bear requirements not used for the badge-- those done beyond the 'do two of the following' --- are considered elective requirements too.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

NWScouter says "all wolf and bear requirements not used for the badge-- are considered elective requirements too."

 

I believe that is true for Bear, but not Wolf.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wolves and Bears cannot use those "unused, optional" requirements as electives.

 

Bears can use requirements from un-selected Achievements as Electives but cannot use those "extra, optional" requirements from their chosen Achievements.

 

jd(This message has been edited by johndaigler)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This is getting confusing, so let me clarify:

 

Wolf and Bear have different rules. As a Wolf, to complete Achievement 1 you must do 1a through 1e, and one more of the remaining six requirements (1f thru 1k). If you complete all six of the remaining requirments, one of them counts toward completing the Achivement and the other five count as electives.

 

That is not true for Bears. Achievements for Bears are grouped by God, Country, Family and Self. Take Country, for example. You must complete three of five Achievements (numbers 3 thru 8). Say you complete numbers 3, 4 and 5. Out of the 10 requirements under number 3 you only have to do three of them. If you do extra, they DO NOT count as electives. However, if you complete any of the requirement for Achivements 6 or 7, they CAN be counted as electives. This is better explained on page 286 of the Bear book.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

TwoCubDad says "As a Wolf, if you complete all six of the remaining requirments, one of them counts toward completing the Achivement and the other five count as electives"

 

Wow, I did not know this. Where will I find this information? Thanks for your help.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Twocubdad,

 

Actually the way it works, according to the Cub Scout Leader Book and the Wolf book, is as follows:

 

Wolf: only the electives can be used for Arrow points, not the unused achievements.

 

Hope this clarifies the rules for everyone.

 

CMF

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

pg 6 of the Bear book also explains the situation for Bears in a pretty straight forward manner.

 

2CD, I think CubMaster-Fred is right about the Wolves.

 

jd

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

×