I don't box. I don't like boxing. Professional boxing seems barbaric. Olympic boxing is just boring. But I am a martial artist, and I'm annoyed that there is not Cub Scout belt loop for martial arts. I understand the concern regarding concussions, but BSA approves flag football. It seems to me that they could approve non-contact martial arts. My cub scout aged son prefers forms competitions to sparring competitions any way.

But I recently learned that the insanity is much deeper. The original book of merit badges included combat skills.

"1910 BSA Handbook... by Chief Scout, Ernest Thompson Seton, had 14 "Badges of Merit"... [including] Master-of-Arms... The Master-at-Arms Badge involved mastering 3 of the following combat skills: single stick, boxing, ju jitsu, wrestling, quarterstaff and fencing."

This badge was only available for one year. It seems Seton dropped this badge almost immediately. Does anyone know why? Did Americans of 1910 find it inappropriate to teach combat skills to 12-year-old boys?

I'm no historian, but the general thinking seems to be that the time for combat may be upon a lad soon enough.

Scouting on the other hand, comprises a set of skills that gives your fellow combatants the edge.

Kids were almost unimaginably tougher back then.

But seriously, they also use to teach jiu-jitsu as an activity at the camps under Baden-Powell. At about the same time, Theodore Roosevelt built a dojo in the White House and hosted MMA bouts between judoka and wrestlers and boxers. His letters are full of descriptions of his bouts, and one of his letters describes practicing Dog Brothers-style full-contact stick-fighting with General Leonard Wood on Christmas day and getting a shiner. Full-contact stick-fighting, boxing, wrestling, judo, jiu-jitsu, and fencing were fairly common activities for Americans back then.