Question on weekly meetings? What is yours like?

I am just starting as Scoutmaster for our troop. We have a lot of issues that I won't get into now. I really want to move us into a boy led program. It has been adult led for years. Our typical weekly meetings (topic) has been picked by the boys but then the leaders do all the "lessons", frankly the boys have been bored and uninterested even though the topics have been picked by them. We are good about camping but even that is adult led and the boys seem uninterested most of the time. I think we need to be boy led and frankly I am just learning about how that all works.

Now for my question. What does your weekly meeting go like? We (leaders) call the meeting to order, ask the SPL to conduct, he opens the meeting, then turns the meeting over to leader to bore them to death teaching a merit badge on XXXXX. All while the boys just want to go shoot hoops in the gym but we (leaders) force them to sit still for an hour listening to something they really don't care about, then we free them to go shoot hoops for half an hour.

I was an ASM working with the 11yr scouts for a short time and have been COR for the last 4 years, eagle scout at 14. I am familiar with the program but not an expert at running one the right way. I know what needs to be done, just don't know how to do it.

When I talk to my SPL about meetings, I put the troop meeting planning form in his hands and tell him that for any meeting for the next month, he must come up with 3 meeting elements. One is the scout skill to review or teach. Then there is the Patrol Corner, where the patrols have to do stuff like meal planning for the next camping trip, take care of patrol gear, discuss what went on in the PLC, and make patrol decisions. The last part is a game, which is up to the boys. I encourage them to use the troop resourses guides to find good games for inter patrol competition. The SPL and Patrol Leaders meet to decide what to do in any given meeting.