Scouts with autism spectrum disorders or Asperger's Syndrome

In addition to being the mom of a Boy Scout and a Cub Scout, and a non-Scout with Asperger's Syndrome (high-functioning autism), I'm also a freelance writer. I've done a couple of short pieces for Boys' Life, and just got my first assignment from Scouting magazine--an article on how leaders and parents can work together to help boys with Asperger's Syndrome or autism spectrum disorders to have a successful experience in Scouting.

If you are the parent of a Scout with AS or autism (either Cub Scout or Boy Scout) or a leader who has worked with Scouts on the autism spectrum, and you feel you would like to share information with me on this subject (either for background, or as someone to be featured in the article) I'd love to hear from you, either on the forum or off-list (at JAYANDE@aol.com). My deadline is April 1, so I'd like to get my interviews completed by mid-March.

Thanks so much.

Elizabeth

• 7 months later...

I am new to this forum so just found this subject...which is also a pet subject of mine

My oldest daughter is an Asperger's..2 other of my 5 kids are ADD kids and I am a Scoutmaster! Oh..and my husband happens to be a Pediatrician! Dealing with an Asperger's kid poses many many challenges that are unique due to their inability to handle or understand social cues. My daughter was terribly bullied through high school and very little was done about it...she was and is terribly scarred by that.