Gutterbird, what are you looking for? I have over time seen half a dozen or more "knotmaster" programs at troops around the country. Each is quite unique. If you can be more specific, I may be able to point you in the direction you desire.

I like knots, rope, splices and such, and it is sort of a hobby of mine; though I am consider myself an avid knotter, I am no expert. Most of the knotmaster programs I have seen at different troops, for one reason or another, I consider missing the mark, in the troop and patrol setting. Many of these methods have a tiered "rank" structure similar to the colored belt system in martial arts; often these are presented as rope lengths which are braided and worn on the belt. Each colored rope is awarded upon demonstrating competence at a predetermined list of knots for that level. What I really don't like is that these are typically adult run programs, and in some cases, adults can demand a demonstration from the scout at any time and take away already presented ropes if the scout no longer can tie the knots correctly.