X
Conversation Detail Module
Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chess Merit Badge Class

This November I will be teaching the Chess merit badge for my troop. I am the only one in my troop who has it. During free time at summer camp there is generally always somebody playing chess, so pretty much everybody knows how to play already. Having gone to tournaments and chess club before I joined scouts, I am familiar with tournament play, chess clocks, notation, and rules such as en passant. I'm not the first youth in my troop to teach a merit badge, we had a 16 year old teach the Wilderness Survival merit badge last year. Any advice on teaching? I've never done any group teaching before, it has always been one on one instruction on knots, orienteering, etc.

Spend as little time as required talking and as much time as possible with the scouts doing something.

Comment

Unless you have 100% buy in from the troop don't do it during Troop the meeting.....But offer it before or after the meeting.......

In looking at the requirements I have no idea how you would do most of it other than one on one.

http://meritbadge.org/wiki/index.php/Chess I know not the official source but close enough for my purposes.

Lots of discuss and demonstrate......Not exactly sure how you would do that in a quality manner in a group setting.

Comment

• King Ding Dong
        King Ding Dong commented
        Editing a comment
        Oh boy, you really did it now 441. Quick Duck !!!

Look up the definition of discuss. Is that how you discuss things with your parents or girlfriend ?

I will let others pile it on.

• EagleScout441
        EagleScout441 commented
        Editing a comment
        I know what it means to discuss, but if you look at all the summer camp merit badge classes do they really "discuss"? It's more like define.
        Requirement 2b: discuss sportsmanship: I define sportsmanship and then give/ask for examples.

• Basementdweller